CC’ing Yourself on Canvas Messages

You can set a new notification preference that allows you to receive a copy of all conversations you create. When enabled, this feature lets you see what conversations have been sent and how they appear in their specified communication channels.

"Conversations Created By Me" setting under "Notification Preferences"
The “Conversations Created by Me” notification preference lets you CC yourself on the Canvas messages you send.

A few things to note about this new feature:

  • When you create a group message and click the “Send Individual Messages” checkbox, Canvas generates only one notification for the sent message.

    Conversation Messages "To" field
    Side note: When messaging multiple users (e.g., your whole class), the “Send Individual Messages” lets a user reply just to you rather than all to recipients of your message.
  • In Conversations, sent messages appear in the Sent folder.
  • When a message receives a reply, the message thread will appear in the Inbox.

Enable  “Conversations Created by Me”

You can follow these instructions to enable this notification preference:

How do I set my Notification Preferences?

Questions?

If you have any questions, you can contact Courseware Support at canvas@pobox.upenn.edu for assistance.